Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

bookishthoughts

This is a weekly event hosted by Bookishly Boisterous.

– I finished Ugly Love this past weekend.  You can find my review here.  One of the best, if not the best book of 2014 for me.

– I’m yet again going through another weird book ADD thing.  I am currently working on 4 books at once.  And I like them all, just feeling really unfocused.  The most recent book I picked up is a romantic suspense and a little different than I have been reading.  It sucked me in pretty quickly, so I think I found a winner.  Let’s hope.

– I know there are a lot of haters of Fifty Shades, but I ain’t gonna lie – I want to see the movie.  The trailer comes out today and I’m anxious to see it.

tumblr_n8w222vpEl1temlefo1_1280

– Thanks to my parents, hubby and I got a little date night last Saturday, and the best part?  We stayed home.  He made me dinner, one of my favorites – beef kabobs, and we watched a Big Bang marathon.  And drank wine.  It was perfect.  Date nights at home are my favorite.

a5153f8ce4eca3a9d4c5e9fc1866833e

– I signed my baby up for preschool this week.  I just can’t believe she’s going to school in a month.  I know all parents go through this, but it still amazes me how fast she’s growing up.

– But, just because her growing up so fast makes me sad, I still do not have any desire for more kids.  People can stop asking me that question any day now.

–  I have to admit that I fangirled a tiny bit when this happened.  I posted about Ugly Love on a Colleen Hoover Facebook group and she ‘liked’ my post.  Day made.

IMG_7741[1]

– Weekend plans?  Not much here.  And that’s okay with me.  If I just finish a book, I’ll be happy.

signatureratherbereading

19 thoughts on “Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

  1. Sarah Says Read says:

    Awww, date nights at home ARE the best! I think that’s what we’re doing tonight – renting a movie and getting Chinese.

    I can’t believe your little girl is already going to preschool!

  2. laurelrainsnow says:

    I haven’t read the Fifty Shades books….but out of curiosity, I’ll probably see the movie. You can share your thoughts after the trailer…LOL.

    The special moments in a child’s life do go so fast…and here I am, with GRANDCHILDREN in their teens!

    My youngest grandson is almost twelve, but the others are all teenagers.

    Enjoy those date nights. Here’s MY BOOKISH/NOT SO BOOKISH POST

  3. Nadia says:

    Preschool, already?! Wow! She is growing up so fast 🙂 I only read the first book in the Fifty Shades trilogy (should probably read the rest) and so I do plan on watching the film. Just finished watching the trailer – loved how sexy that guy was and I really liked the new version of Crazy in Love by Beyonce. I would be excited if an author liked my post, too 🙂 And your date night at home sounded perfect – those are the best kind!

    • Brandie says:

      I know…she is growing too fast!!

      I loved the trailer. I think they both are really perfect for those roles. I love the song, too!

      Have a great weekend, Nadia!

  4. Lori Palmer (@palmerspageturn) says:

    The first time Rainbow Rowell tweeted me back, I totally freaked out. I still jump up and down inside every time she retweets, favorites, or replies to one of my tweets!

    I totally get the asking about kids thing. We don’t have any kids (just pets) and aren’t ready yet. Makes me even less ready when people bug me about it!

  5. Anne Bennett says:

    I am new to this meme so I am dropping by other participants to say hi and to have a look around. My baby graduated from college this summer. Treasure every moment, they go by so fast.

  6. Jade @ Bits & Bobs says:

    I was really unfocused on reading until I asked for my summer recommendations, and I’ve definitely been pulled out of that now. I hope you’re able to finish a book!

    Also, we get the whole another baby thing a lot – nevermind our little one is only 8 months old currently! We aren’t planning to have another and so it definitely gets tiring hearing that!
    🙂

    • Brandie says:

      I’m really into the book I am focusing on right now. Thank goodness I got out of the slump!! It’s so good I would love to stay up tonight to finish it if I’m not too tired. 🙂

      I’m glad to know I’m not alone.

  7. Lizzi says:

    I just saw the 50 Shades trailer, and like Nadia I’m loving “Crazy In Love.” I have to admit I still have a hard time with Jamie Dornan as Christian. But oh well, he’s still easy on the eyes!

    I can’t believe Sunny is already going to pre-school. Time flies! Beau starts 2nd grade in a week and that blows my mind.

    Have you subscribed to Kindle Unlimited? I did and I’m loving it. Of course, now I’m on a downloading frenzy! And of course, I’m still searching big book to sink my teeth into.

    Happy almost Friday!

    • Brandie says:

      If you subscribe to Kindle Unlimited – does that mean everything you download is free and you keep it? So it’s not like borrowing a book and it’s gone in two weeks?

      Wow, I can’t believe Beau is in 2nd grade!! That is just crazy. Where does the time go?

      I think Jamie is going to have to grow on me a little. I prefer him with a beard, like he had in the Today Show interview. I think after I see the movie, my opinion of him will change.

      • Lizzi says:

        With Kindle Unlimited you can have 10 books out at once. When you have 10 and want another it prompts you to return one. Not everything is available on it, but I haven’t had any issues with that. And honestly it has me wanting to check out books I normally wouldn’t. If there is a book I really want I’ll buy it regardless. I figure it’s a good enough deal for $9.99 a month. (You can try it free for 30 days.)

Leave a Reply

