Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

bookishthoughts

This is a weekly event hosted by Bookishly Boisterous.

–  Mondays after vacation are the worst.

bunny-falls-asleep-at-desk

– But Tuesday was the best book day ever.  I got Landline and started reading it immediately.  Loving it so far.  I also received an ARC of Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover.  Can’t wait to start that one next.

– I started a Facebook page for my blog this week.  Here’s the link if you are on Facebook and want to follow my page.  And, thank you for following me!

– I made this dessert for my hubby, and it was pretty yummy. I hate the kitchen and anything to do with cooking or baking. Fortunately, I have an amazing husband who cooks, otherwise we’d be living on Velveeta Shells and Cheese most of the time.  Once in awhile, I will bake something when the mood strikes. This recipe was calling my name on Pinterest, and was the easiest thing to make – ever.  And it was good, I swear.

2bcc18b2344064b9c165fca39ea20451

– iPhone lover that I am, I admit that I’m tempted to switch to the Fire phone. Maybe by the time it becomes available at Verizon, I’ll make the change.  Amazon isn’t helping with the constant adds in my face every day.  *buy me, you know you want to*

IMG_7497[1]

– This week’s Top Ten Tuesday was about Book Blogger Confessions and I didn’t feel like doing up an entire post.  My biggest ‘confession’ would be that I’ve never read any classics, nor do I have the desire to.  They’re just not my thing and most of them sound like a snooze fest.  I have tried to read one or two over the years, but I lose interest pretty quickly if a book isn’t keeping my attention.

– The temps have been a little cooler this week, and I love it.  I’m not saying I’m ready for below freezing and snow anytime soon.  But I do love when it’s cool enough to have a fire, or open the windows.  I’m already looking forward to the fall – it’s my favorite time of year.

signatureratherbereading

21 thoughts on “Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

  1. laurelrainsnow says:

    I hate cooking, too, and inwardly groan as I recall how I tried desperately (in my younger years) to pretend that I loved it.

    Now my excuse is that I have a tiny galley kitchen that nobody could be expected to cook in…LOL. My microwave gets lots of attention.

    The cookie recipe looks good, though….and BTW, I loved Landline.

    Here’s “MY BOOKISH/NOT-SO-BOOKISH POST”

  2. Karsyn @ KaKiJoKoJa says:

    I don’t do Classics either. No interest, don’t care that I haven’t read ’em. It still amazes me when I see people who “feel bad” they don’t read classics. Why? Just don’t read ’em. Most of them were written sooooooo long ago and times have changed so much. Read what you like, don’t force yourself to read it just because it’s “classic” or is popular. People worry too much. I’m glad you have no desire to read them as well. 🙂

    • Brandie says:

      I’m finding that I’m definitely not the only one and that is comforting! Times have changed too much and I’d rather just read what interests me. 🙂

  3. Jade @ Bits & Bobs says:

    Me and cooking have a bit of a love hate relationship – I have to really be in the mood to enjoy cooking. I’m a pretty basic cook anyway so that’s alright, I don’t spend too long in the kitchen of an evening.

    Those cookies look pretty easy – may have to give those a whirl!
    🙂

  4. Nadia says:

    Brandie, I am waiting to get my copy of Landline still – apparently it got sent to the wrong place and is now being rerouted – ugh! I’m glad you are enjoying it though, because that means I will, too 🙂 Thanks for that recipe – I remember you mentioned it before and it sounded so good! As for reading the classics, I’m not a huge fan either. I had to read loads of them in college and grad school since I was an English major, but truthfully, they were never my cup of tea. I did enjoy some of them and will still read them occasionally, but rarely. I never feel bad about not liking them as much, I figure “different strokes for different folks”, right? Enjoy your weekend!

  5. Sarah Says Read says:

    I’m intrigued by the Amazon phone… but I’m waiting to see. The Windows phone was kind of big a couple years ago and it seems to have now disappeared. And I do love my Galaxy S4.

    • Brandie says:

      I think it’s good to wait and see if it fizzles out or what. Since I have Verizon, I can’t even get it anytime soon. I figure by the time it gets to Verizon, I’ll know if it’s worth it to switch.

Leave a Reply

