It’s Monday! What are you Reading?

 

its monday

This is a weekly meme started by Sheila over at Book Journey.

Happy Monday, book junkies! Why, oh why, do the weekends go so fast?  I wasn’t ready for Monday, yet.  Bring on the coffee!

I finished (I say that loosely because I admit to skimming) Me Before You.  Not the right timing for me to read that book and I should have never read any reviews beforehand.  The suspense and anticipation was ruined for me early on, and once I got bored, I gave up.  I really need to learn my lesson and not read reviews before I read a book.  I think back to the days before reviews and you just read a book because it sounded good – not because you were swayed one way or the other by a review.  90% of the time, reviews are a great thing and very helpful to me, but there are times where they are too telling of the outcome of a book and it ruins my experience.  I have to be more careful of the spoilery ones.  I admit that I am very reliant on other readers reviews before I pick up a book.  If I think a book sounds really good, but I see it doesn’t get good ratings (4 or 5 stars) on Goodreads from my peers, I usually won’t even give it a chance.  How do you choose your books and do you rely on reviews?

I have finally started Nash.  I love this series and hope that Jay Crownover has the magic to get me out of my book slump this week.  Hope everyone has a great week, and happy reading!

just finished reading

15507958

what i'm reading

18655937

signatureratherbereading

12 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you Reading?

  1. whatsheread says:

    I do look at GoodReads ratings, but I don’t necessarily let it sway me from reading a book, and I do avoid all spoilers/reviews prior to reading something. It doesn’t help block out all of the hype, but at least I can go into a story without knowing too much.

    I am so bummed that Me Before You didn’t work so well for you. I do recommend you trying again. The ending is just so fabulous.

  2. Kathy Martin says:

    I try not to look at any reviews before I read a book. I may look after to see if other reviewers agree with my opinion. Come see my busy week here. Happy reading!

  3. Charleen says:

    Sometimes positive reviews or ratings will help me decide to put a book on my list… but if I already have an interest in a book, it’s rare that negative reviews or ratings will keep me from trying it.

  4. Karsyn says:

    I don’t go by reviews at all. I only go by description. If it sounds good to me, I’ll read it, no matter what any reviews are on it. I don’t tend to like what other people like at all. Now, if I’m on the fence about it, like it looks ok to me, but I’m not sure, I’ll look down at the GoodReads reviews. If it has mostly 4&5’s I might be more willing to try, but it usually falls so far down my “maybe” list that I forget about it. If it’s filled with 1&2s, then I just forget about it and move on. I just finished up a book that I LOVED, and glanced at the reviews afterward and the “top” review hated it. So yeah, I don’t pay attention to what others think, because I tend not to think like others. It usually gets me on description alone.

  5. Heather says:

    You don’t know how people are rating things either. I start with a baseline of 3 stars and it has to be really good to get to a 4 and life changing to get a 5. Other people seem to start with 5 and only knock books down if they have a serious problems with them.

    • Brandie says:

      Exactly – I normally won’t even read a book that only gets a 3, but I shouldn’t really go by that when everyone’s ratings are different.

  6. thebookdate says:

    Brandie
    I am like you, I avoid reviews by others until I have read the book, but I do keep an eye on my Goodreads to see what star ratings my friends give the book. Sometimes I read a couple of low ratings by other reviewers there, because sometimes they hold some truth, but I then compare my books to there ones to check out where we stand!
    Hope you have a good/better reading week.

  7. Lindsey says:

    I try to avoid other reviews until I’m done reading my book. Sometimes that works and sometimes it doesn’t work quite as well!

    Have a great week and I hope you enjoy Nash!

  8. Rachael at The End of the Chapter says:

    I try my best not to read review of books unless I’m on the fence about reading them in the first place. Don’t get me wrong, reviews definitely serve their purpose, and a person’s opinion is important, but sometimes a review can ruin a book for me. Also…MONDAY UGH!! *chugs caffeinated beverages*

  9. Teddyree says:

    Well if it’s any consolation I didn’t have the emotional reaction to Me Before You that I expected to lol. I rely on friends reviews (blog or goodreads) to add to my groaning TBR pile but they’re bloggy friends I trust not to include spoilers or give too much away. If I’m reviewing an ARC I don’t read reviews until I’ve read and reviewed. Nash is new to me, I hope it’s exactly what you need. Happy reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

