Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

bookishthoughts

This is a weekly event hosted by Bookishly Boisterous.

–  I finished reading Me Before You last night.  I have to admit I was bored and skimmed.  I am in SUCH a book slump and nothing is keeping my attention.  And this book ended exactly how I expected because I read enough reviews to know what to expect.  Once I know the end, I pretty much give up on the book.  So, moving on to Nash because I figure a Marked Men novel has to get me out of this slump/ADD issue.

– Sunnie is cuddled up to me while I’m writing this post.  There are very few mornings where she is sleepy and only wants to watch cartoons and lay around, because she’s normally a tornado of energy at 6 o’clock in the morning.  I savor these rare days when I can sit and enjoy my coffee.  Bonus is I made a Dunkin run this morning before hubby left for work.  So, yum.

– It makes me happy when someone loves a book I recommend.  And I take it personally when they don’t.  Which I know is ridiculous.

– We all got a little dressed up last night to go out to dinner with the family at a nice Italian place.  It’s rare that we ever get dressed up or that I wear a skirt.  Usually my idea of dressing up is throwing a scarf over my t-shirt.

– The countdown to vacation is on.  Friday at 12:30 starts my 9 1/2 day break.  I’ve started planning all of the things I want to get done and fun stuff I want to do with the peanut while I’m off.  Can’t wait.

– I really don’t feel like getting out of my pajamas today.

– I’ve been trying to talk my husband into letting me cancel cable/satellite.   He’s not totally convinced, yet.  If I can figure out a way for us to still watch football in the fall, then it’s goodbye DirectTV.  I hate paying so much for cable.  I hate paying so much for cell phones, too – but that’s another issue.

– Laundry isn’t going to do itself, so off I go to do all the adult things.  Hope everyone is having a great weekend!

signatureratherbereading

9 thoughts on “Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

  1. Karsyn says:

    We have the same issue with cable. We are paying for baseball and football and that’s it. Granted, that’s most of the year, but it stinks to be paying sooooooo much for really only watching 2 things. Plus, we have to pay a little more for the regional sports, so we can actually watch a baseball team here. Once our DirecTv is up, we might look into some “pay as you go” of Dish which would be $30 less a month with no commitment.

    If I had the money, and were able to, I would start up a cable company that was ONLY local channels and sports, and it would cost less than paying for all those other channels we never watch. I don’t know why no one has done it yet. 🙂

  2. Nadia says:

    Brandie, I’m so with you on the cable thing. It is too expensive. I’m itching to cancel it, but need to find another way of watching TV first. And, I know what you mean – I love when someone loves a book I recommend, but I get upset when they don’t like the book (LOL!). Sorry you didn’t enjoy the Moyes book – I guess its not for everyone, eh? Oh well, sounds like you are moving on to a fun book 🙂 That’s great about your vacation starting soon – hope this week flies by for you!

  3. Jade @ Bits & Bobs says:

    PJ days are some of the best, and can be surprisingly productive too!

    Being from the UK, I’m not aware of your exact cable pricing etc but here it is incredibly expensive too. We don’t have that issue though as we don’t actually own a TV. It saves us a lot of money not having the cable subscription, TV licence fee and not to mention electric that a TV runs on – and I definitely don’t feel like I’m missing out by not owning a TV.

    I hope you enjoy your holiday time!

    🙂

  4. Andrea @ The Bookish Babe says:

    I love when my kids want to snuggle with me in the mornings. Coffee and donuts are a bonus! I bet you can’t wait for vacation!
    I would cancel my satellite too, if not for the kids. And HBO. That’s the only channel I watch!

  5. Teddyree says:

    I love PJ days but that’s usually the day when someone turns up unexpectedly and I’m totally mortified lol. And now I want donuts 🙂
    In Australia we pay approx $100/month for cable tv, so much money. Is yours much the same?

  6. Sarah Says Read says:

    Soooo get rid of cable! I think there’s way to get a Roku box and then get a sports app or channel on it… but I’m not 100% sure. But cable is RIDICULOUSLY expensive, especially if you have Netflix or Hulu already.

    I think you’re on vacation now, so hope you’re enjoying!! Or if you’re already back from vacation, hope it was a good one! (Man, I’m delayed in my blog reader…)

Leave a Reply

