Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

bookishthoughts

This is a weekly event hosted by Bookishly Boisterous.

1. I finished The One and Only by Emily Giffin.  I think it’s definitely a love it or hate it book.  Fortunately, I really enjoyed it.

2. I received this yesterday and can’t wait to start it.  One of the most highly anticipated books on my list this summer – and it’s getting a lot of high ratings on Goodreads already.  I’m staying away from reading the reviews so I don’t spoil anything for myself.

IMG_7305

3. My peanut starts soccer tomorrow.  She’s so excited that she wore her new shin guards all night around the house.  Fingers crossed the rain holds off.

4. I’m getting some more responsibilities at work and I love it.  It’s keeping me busy and making the days fly by.  I’m feeling pretty drained at night, though, so there’s been more wine drinking and less reading going on.

5. I’ve been ‘dieting’ for a few weeks.  It’s more of me just watching my calorie intake and cutting back on junk.  No pop, no sweets, only salads for lunch every day.  Then the freedom to eat whatever at night (of course with some limits – I’m keeping it to only one helping of food instead of going back for seconds like I normally would).  I finally saw my new habits starting to pay off yesterday when I fit into a pair of jeans a size smaller than normal.  I can’t even tell you how that made my entire day – and motivated me to stay on track.

6. I mentioned trying out running to my hubby last night.  This is the girl who hasn’t run a day in her life, hates to sweat, hates the outdoors, and would probably keel over within the first 30 seconds of feet hitting the pavement.  He just looked at me like I was crazy.  I certainly feel like I should have my mental health examined. I will probably never run, it was only a thought.

a42d611c500bddc85829c3585d30e479

That’s all I have this week.  Time for more coffee…

signatureratherbereading

14 thoughts on “Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

  1. Karsyn says:

    The time has come for us to do some “dieting” as well. 4 years ago I had lost a ton of weight because I was biking to work 2 miles one way 5 days a week. I want to get back down to that weight, or lower. We’re starting by watching out calories. We can not cut out our soft drinks, but we’ve moved to diet, or ones like Coke Zero. We got rid of all the junk, and I’m headed to the store today to try to see what I can get to help out. My biggest issue will be breakfast. I like REALLY REALLY sweet breakfasts, like Toaster Strudel and pop tarts. I hope to at least find something that will be still sweet but less calories. If you want some encouragement and support, feel free to message me.

    • Brandie says:

      I’d love the encouragement – the support I’m getting from my friends and my hubby has helped me tremendously. I totally understand how hard it is to give up the things you love. I really love chocolate and that has been the hardest for me. But I have refused to give up my coffee or wine – I consider those my rewards for working hard. You have to still be able to enjoy some things so you don’t get sick of the dieting and give up. At least that’s how I look at it. Good luck!

  2. Lavender Smith says:

    Great post, I loved reading it! I’m not a runner either, have never done it because I know I would suck at it. How brave of you to go on a diet. Good luck! It sounds like you’re doing really great! Congratulations on the promotion. And have fun reading your book!

  3. Lori Palmer (@palmerspageturn) says:

    I tried running a few years ago. Never been a runner (dance, cheer, etc was my thing), but wanted to do a 5K just to prove to myself I could do it. So I did it, but I hated every minute of it! haha. But I was glad that I pushed myself to give it a shot! Good Luck!

  4. Sarah Says Read says:

    Congrats on eating better and seeing the payoff!! That’s such a great feeling. I’ve gained a couple lbs in the past few months and I’m trying to eat better and get back to the gym/running more, but man it’s hard some days. Keep it up!!! It’s easier to continue than it is to quit and then try again and again, believe me 🙂

    And you reminded me, I have wine in the fridge… think I’ll go pour myself a glass.

  5. Rachel @The Readers Den says:

    Congrats on fitting into your smaller jeans! That feels so wonderful! I’m excited to hear what you think of Beautiful Oblivion! I’m anxiously awaiting that one, too. I was disappointed with A Beautiful Wedding, I think things should’ve been left well enough alone, so I’m a little gun shy now. Hectic days at work make wine with dinner a necessity sometimes for me, too! Lol! Great post, Brandie. 🙂

  6. teriflemal says:

    I lost 15 lbs on WW. It has been slow– 1-2 lbs week, but pretty easy. And walking 1-3 mi/ day. That has been fun to do. Wish I could run but my asthma won’t cooperate. I remember our first soccer seasn withWe had to teach Ben to run TOWARD the ball. Haha. He played all the way through Ladt year of HS

  7. whatsheread says:

    Congratulations on the weight loss! I need reminders that it really doesn’t take much to succeed, if one could call cutting out sweets and fats and eating lots of salads much.

    As for running, you never know. I had started and was beginning to really get into it but was battling severe shin splints, which I know are directly related to the weight I am carrying. I switched back to walking, but I know I’ll try it again someday. And this is coming from someone who walked the mile run in high school gym class and skipped out on track meets because I hated to run.

    I have new responsibilities at work too. They are kicking my butt. This week has been particularly bad. I’m hoping this eases up a bit once I get used to them. Good luck!

  8. Christine @ BookishlyB says:

    Try the Couch 2 5k app! I used to be a runner (like 12 half marathons in a year sort of runner) but then got burnt out (shocker) and then pregnant. Now, 2.5 years after doing any serious running and becoming more of a yoga person, I’m lacing up my shoes once again and starting with this program. It’s great! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

