Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

bookishthoughts

This is a weekly event hosted by Bookishly Boisterous.

1. I finished Sweet Filthy Boy.  Loved!  Ansel – he was a treat.  I started The One and Only by Emily Giffin.  So far I am really enjoying it.  I love football and the fact that football is a theme in this book makes me happy.  Especially because I miss football right now.

2. This happened on Saturday and I was in heaven.  My parents offered to babysit and the hubby and I had a quiet evening at home together.  I love nights like this – we had perfect weather and it was so relaxing.  And I may have drank a bottle of wine on my own.  Makes me wish for nights like this more often.  And really appreciate them when we have them.

IMG_6970[1]

3. I’m thinking of having my first giveaway on the blog.  The wheels are churning.

4. Words can not express how much I loath shopping.  Hate it.  Grocery shopping.  Clothes shopping.  If it’s not bookstore shopping – I don’t want to do it.  I tend to be very cheap and wear the same clothes until they are too worn to donate them.  I am not big on the latest fashions – I just bought my first pair of ‘skinny’ jeans a year ago.  I just don’t care.  Now, I will get a new purse every 6 months – but that’s another issue.  I have been seeing this jean jacket trend everywhere lately.  And I want one.  If I spend any money on clothes in the near future, it’ll be on one of these.  How cute is this.  I want the shoes, too.

7b6e5d4ab84a3049296b692512071efb

5. I’m already thinking about my week of vacation in July.

6. I saw this on Pinterest and Facebook not too long ago and thought it was interesting.  What % do you fall in to? I try every year to be that 5%.

69a532289d872db66ef4165e327a36ed

7. It feels like overnight my daughter has gone from being scared to do anything, to being a little daredevil.  Took her to the park over the weekend and she was climbing, going down the huge slide, wanting to swing – all things she’d never do a month ago.  And without my encouragement.  It’s like she changed overnight and it amazes me.

8. I reserved my first graphic novel at the library and picking it up tonight.  Trying to be more open-minded and willing to try new things.

9. I wish I could listen to audio books.  I’d get through so many more books a year.  When I had a longer drive to work and pre-peanut, I used to listen to audio books every day.  Then we moved closer to work and family and the 15 minute drive with my daughter doesn’t give me the option anymore.

10. I do believe I have no plans this weekend at all.  And that makes me happy.

209ad65c73d95901f1cac04eb3757696

I find this interesting since I’m a Taurus.

09318afd1d9fe026073d7d16aa556c89

signatureratherbereading

14 thoughts on “Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

  1. Krystyn says:

    I’m in the 5% – at least for the past 4 years now…my yearly goal is around 52 books. And I’m w/you on the audio books though I’ve never been successful with them finding my mind wandering once I put them on, so then I have no idea what is going on in the book. I also have a short drive to work w/my 6yo in tow, so no chance to try again right now.

  2. Jade @ Bits & Bobs says:

    I’m already think about my four night holiday in September… Yes, September! The end of September may I add.

    Go you, branching out in your book reading habits. It can be hard to break out of your reading bubble sometimes. I’d love to know how the graphic novel goes.

    🙂

  3. Karsyn says:

    I’m not a shopper either, never have been. I don’t wear anything fashionable, it’s all comfort for me, plus no money, so such is life. I’m not a purse person either, haven’t owned one since high school. Now, on the rare occasions I leave the house, I take my backpack with my Fire in it. Only 5%? That’s so sad! I’m of the 5%, 100+ for me. How about listening to audiobooks before you go to sleep? That’s the main time I listen to mine, anywhere from a half hour to 2 hours or so. It used to help me fall asleep easier, now I’m back to my normal laying awake forever. 😦

  4. Andrea @ The Bookish Babe says:

    I love that outfit! I actually do like to shop, but always feel overwhelmed. Have you tried Twice? It’s a resale site, but of really nice stuff. They also have outfits put together, which I appreciate.
    We rarely have a kid-free weekend, which is okay…BUT, our kids go to Texas for 3-4 weeks every summer. And we do miss them, but it’s nice to have some time to reset.
    Enjoy your lazy weekend!

  5. Nadia says:

    Love that outfit! Like you, I’m not a big shopper either (only for books). If I had a vacation in July, I’d be thinking about it, too 🙂 I’m in the 5% and find it sad that the majority of adults only read 1-5 books 😦 I love that you are planning your first giveaway – how exciting and fun! And, I love that you are going to read a graphic novel! Blogging opened me up to more nonfiction, so I think its great you are opening up to different genres as well. And, I loved that Leos are homebodies – I’m a Leo and such a homebody 🙂

  6. teriflemal says:

    Please let us know what you think of graphic novel. I look at them from afar, as I do frog’s legs and vichysoisse. Might be good, but I wouldn’t know…

  7. Christine @ BookishlyB says:

    My baby is five weeks old and I cannot wait until someone wants to babysit so I can drink a bottle of wine and hang out with my husband. CANNOT WAIT.

    Oh, and I do like my kid, it’s just I miss those things so much…

    • Brandie says:

      Well, I checked out Blankets (holy long book), and then I didn’t get very far in it because I haven’t had much reading time lately. I have to return it to the library or renew it soon.

Leave a Reply

