Top Ten Tuesday – Books I Want to Reread

top ten tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish, to share lists with other bookish folks.  

This week’s meme is a freebie, and I was inspired to do my own post for Books I Want to Reread, simply because I have only ever reread ONE book in my life (Twilight) and I hope to one day make more of an effort to reread some of my favorites.  I have collected a lot of my ‘favorites’ in paperback/hardcover over the years just in the hopes that one day I’ll make time to read them again.  My intimidating TBR list continues to hold me back from ever doing a reread, and I also worry that I won’t have the same feelings about some of my favorite books as I did the first time around.  One day I will give it a try!  So, here are my top 10 books/series I hope to read again someday.

Top Ten Books (Series) I Want to Reread

1. Entire Twilight Saga by Stephenie Meyer – Yes, I am not ashamed that Twilight is one of my favorite series and even though I have reread the first book – I want to reread them all some day.

2. Gabriel’s Inferno Series by Sylvain Reynard – This is another favorite series of mine.  I found this book on Amazon after I finished reading 50 Shades and wanted to read something similar.  Although it may be classified as the same genre – it was different in so many ways and I absolutely fell in love with Sylvain Reynard’s writing.  If I were stranded on an island – this is the series I would want to have with me.

3. Fifty Shades of Grey Series by E.L. James – Simply to see if I still love it and feel the same as I did when I read it the first time.  I know this isn’t everyone’s cup of tea – but I thoroughly enjoyed these books.

4. Bared to You (Crossfire Series) by Sylvia Day – Do you see a pattern here?

5. The Guardian by Nicholas Sparks – For years I went through a NS phase where I loved all of his books, and own every single one in hardback (except for his most recent release).  The past few books have been a bit of a let down for me, so I don’t get as excited to read his books as I used to.  But I remember a time when I would devour his novels one after another because I loved them so much, and this book was always my absolute favorite of his novels.  When I had the opportunity to meet him (only author I’ve met in person) – this is the book I had him sign. I hope to read it again someday and relive the magic I felt when I read it the first time.

6. Whispers and Lies by Joy Fielding – This is the only suspense novel I have read that kept me up all night long.  I remember the night I read this book vividly, as if it just happened last week, and I wonder if I’d feel the same way reading it again.  I don’t remember anything about the book (because I have the worst memory ever), or the twists, so I hope it would be like reading it for the first time.

7. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins – My favorite YA ever!

8. Leave Me Breathless (Ross Siblings Series) by Cherrie Lynn – I love Ghost.  Enough said.

9. Something Borrowed/Something Blue by Emily Giffin – This series had a lot to do with my love of Chick Lit, and was sort of the jolt that got me reading again years ago.  I read both of these books in one weekend because I couldn’t put them down.

10. The Edge of Never by J. A. Redmerski – I remember reading this book over my holiday break two years ago.  It is still fresh in my mind how much I fell in love with this story and how I couldn’t put the book down once I started it.

What are some of the books you hope to reread someday?  Have you read any of the books I’ve listed?

 

20 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Books I Want to Reread

  1. Charleen says:

    I’m an enthusiastic re-reader, as you probably figured out from my TTT this week. I love to read my favorites over and over again. They’re comfort reads. (Like comfort food, but better for my waistline.)

    • Brandie says:

      I can totally understand that and I want to be that person some day! I want to get to a point where I don’t care how many new books I have to read and just make the time to reread my favorites.

  2. Lori Palmer (@palmerspageturn) says:

    Yet another thing we have in common–I too have a love for the Twilight series! I know it’s not as well written as it could be and it’s cheesy…but I just love it! 🙂 Kudos to you for admitting you love it and not being ashamed!

    I really need to read Anna and the French Kiss (and the other ones in the series). Heard so many great things about these books!! And if it’s your favorite YA ever, it must be added to my TBR pile!

    • Brandie says:

      I’m glad to see another Twilight fan!! I know it’s a love it or hate it series and I am the first to admit I love it and always will! 🙂

      I hope you read Anna! It’s so good!!

  3. Karsyn says:

    My TBR keeps me from re-reading, though my recent audiobook discovery led me to re-reading several, including Night Circus and all the Harry Potters. I’m not big on re-reads because I like to discover new things, but I think I would re-read certain ones. I’ll definitely re-listen to both the ones I just mentioned, and I’ll likely listen to The Maze Runner as a re-read before the movie comes on on DVD and I’ll probably re-read Shadow of the Wind sometime, since I loved it so much.

  4. caitlinstern says:

    Stephanie Perkins writes some seriously cute books.

    I’m such a sucker for new interesting books that I don’t have as much time to re-read as I like. But I’m about halfway through winnowing my overloaded bookshelves, and when I’m done it will be so much easier to find my favorite re-reads!

      • Rachel says:

        I didn’t find just as many people who didn’t like them “in real life” but in the blogging community those who appreciate it for what it is are a rare breed! I’ve said it numerous times, I don’t think the writing was overly good (and as a MASSIVE Harry Potter fan I’m a bit appalled that it has beat the number of books Rowling sold) but I was completely hooked, I think I read the three books in four days. It was the first piece of fiction I read when I came out of a four year degree and found myself with some time on my hands (oh how I wish for that now!), and I devoured them. I want to re-read them before the movie comes out. I would have re-read much more before I started blogging, now there are so many I’d like to re-read but I can’t seem to justify it. I think the novelty will wear off at some point and I’ll adopt a, “Frig it, I’ll read whatever I like” attitude, until then… I’ve forced myself to take a bit of a break and re-read The Mortal Instruments series so I’m caught up for the new book, I should have started weeks ago really but at least I’m doing it now…

        R x

      • Brandie says:

        I know exactly what you mean. Right now I’m all MUST.READ.ALL.THE.BOOKS. But eventually that will wear off. I, too, want to reread 50 before the movie comes out. I hope.

  5. Amy says:

    I have a whole bookcase of series I want to reread. I totally understand the dilemma of should I eat up valuable reading time rereading. My solution is this: each year I will pick a different series and reread it, only one though. Last year I picked Sherrilynn Kenyon’s Dark Hunter series, 30 some titles (including novellas). Took me three months, but I think it was time well spent. I chose that one because there was a major release in the series and it was nice to have a refresher of all the plot threads. Great topic. Mine was books too long on to-read list: http://readwhatilike.wordpress.com/2014/05/27/top-ten-tuesday-top-10-books-too-long-on-to-read-list/

  6. Lisa says:

    I’m a big fan of re-reading! I’ve gone back to childhood favorites, and there are plenty of my “grown-up” books that I’ve re-read a time or two… or more. For me, my go-to series to read again and again is the Outlander series, but there are others (Harry Potter, The Time Traveler’s Wife, and others) that I see something new in every time I read them. (And btw, Anna & the French Kiss is so great!) Nice list! I hope you get the time you want to re-read these all!

    • Brandie says:

      Thanks! I still want to get through Outlander some day. I’ve started the first book but haven’t made it too far. I loved The Time Traveler’s Wife!

  7. Andrea @ The Bookish Babe says:

    Ooh, I loved Leave Me Breathless, too! And I *think* I’ve read the entire Twilight series more than once, but can’t remember if it was just Twilight or all of them. I have listened multiple times on audio.
    Good luck at getting some rereads in!

  8. anotherafterthought says:

    With the never-ending TBR pile, I can never get a chance to reread books…though, I’m not sure I’d have the willpower to reread them as the appeal would be different–just my opinion haha. I think there’s more of a chance for me to skim-read through childhood novels due to their length and the amount of nostalgia I can get from them!

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

  9. Stacie @ Books Galore says:

    Really like this this idea for a list, there is so many books that I want to reread myself.

    you shouldn’t feel ashamed about liking any book, even if it is the Twilight Saga, I’ve reread those books more times than I care to count and they were once a favourite of mine too, sadly no any more but each to their own.

    Fifty Shades of Grey is not for me but yet again each to their own

    Anna and the French Kiss is simply too cute for words and I can not wait for the next book.

    The Edge of Never was a book I remember not hating, but disliking a fair amount about.

    Like I said, great list. And you now have a new follower via Blogloving and twitter 🙂

    My TTT

Leave a Reply

