Short and Tweet Reviews {1}

Kate at Midnight Book Girl hosts a meme on Short and Tweet reviews.  I think it’s a great idea for spreading the love for some of the books I’ve read when I don’t want to do a long review.

shortandtweet

20693938

Better When He’s Bad by Jay Crownover

ARC kindly provided by publisher via Edelweiss

Pre-order here: Amazon

Welcome to the Point…

There’s a difference between a bad boy and a boy who’s bad. . . . Meet Shane Baxter.

Sexy, dark, and dangerous, Bax isn’t just from the wrong side of the tracks, he is the wrong side of the tracks. A criminal, a thug, and a brawler, he was the master of bad choices, until one such choice landed him in prison for five years. Now Bax is out and looking for answers, and he doesn’t care what he has to do or who he has to hurt to get them. But there’s a new player in the game, and she’s much too innocent, much too soft . . . and standing directly in his way.

Dovie Pryce knows all about living a hard life and the tough choices that come with it. She’s always tried to be good, tried to help others, and tried not to let the darkness pull her down. But the streets are fighting back, things have gone from bad to worse, and the only person who can help her is the scariest, sexiest, most complicated ex-con the Point has ever produced.

Bax terrifies her, awakening feelings she never thought she’d have for a guy like him. But it doesn’t take Dovie long to realize . . . some boys are just better when they’re bad.

Loved this book!  It took me a little while to get into it, but once I did, I was hooked.  This was sexy and suspenseful and another great book by Jay Crownover.  I am a huge fan of her Marked Men series – and now of this new ‘Welcome to the Point’ series!

When We Fall Kendall Ryan ebook cover

When We Fall by Kendall Ryan

Buy it here: Amazon

In this third and final installment of the much loved When I Break series, Knox and McKenna’s relationship has reached a critical impasse. The mistakes and secrets of their pasts have caught up to them and threaten their future happiness. Can McKenna trust that Knox’s sexual addiction is behind him and make a life with this beautifully troubled man? And when Knox reveals the full truth about his past, will McKenna be able to put her own fears aside and accept him?

This is my favorite series of Kendall Ryan’s.  Her books are like comfort food to me – I just know I can pick one up and fall in love with her writing and characters.  She writes sexy and steam like no other and I devour most of her books in one sitting.  This book was a perfect end to a wonderful series.

16143347

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

Buy it here: Amazon

A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

This book was different.  But in a good way.  I was really excited to read it after seeing a lot of rave reviews.  The writing was a bit choppy and confusing at times, but I think it was just me.  I’m glad I kept reading, because it was worth it for that ending.  As every other review has stated – this is a book you need to go into blindly without any spoilers.  Very suspenseful with a twist you will never see coming!

Signature

5 thoughts on “Short and Tweet Reviews {1}

  1. Rachel @The Readers Den says:

    I really enjoyed Better When He’s Bad, as you know, Brandie. I’m looking forward to the next installment . I’m so behind on Kendall Ryan’s books, I’ll keep this series in mind when I get back to her. I’m totally curious about We Were Liars but I heard it’s best not to know anything. Great minis, Brandie! 🙂

  2. Andrea @ The Bookish Babe says:

    I really need to give this series of Kendall’s a try. I’ve been a fan of hers since she first started. Have you read Unravel Me or Make Me Yours? MMY is my favorite.

    I’ve been waiting on reviews of Better When He’s Bad. Since you and Rachel both liked it, I may give it a try!

    • Brandie says:

      Make Me Yours is my favorite book of hers. I loved that one! I have read every single book of hers and love most of them. There are very few authors that I have read all of their books but Kendall Ryan is one of them. I hope you give this series a try!

Leave a Reply

