Flashback Friday 5/16: Something Borrowed by Emily Giffin

Image

Flashback Fridays is a weekly meme that was created by The Autumn Review.

 23774

AmazonGoodreads


Goodreads Synopsis:

Meet Rachel White, a young attorney living and working in Manhattan. Rachel has always been the consummate good girl–until her thirtieth birthday, when her best friend Darcy throws her a party. That night, after too many drinks, Rachel ends up in bed with Darcy’s fiance’. Although she wakes up determined to put the one-night fling behind her, Rachel is horrified to discover that she has genuine feelings for the one guy she should run from. In her wildest dreams (or worst nightmare?) this is the last thing on earth Rachel could ever have imagined happening. As the September wedding date nears, Rachel knows she has to make a choice. In doing so, she discovers that the lines between right and wrong can be blurry, endings aren’t always neat and sometimes you have to risk all to win true happiness. ‘Something Borrowed’ is a phenomenal debut novel that will have you laughing, crying, and calling your best friend.

Before I got into my Twilight/paranormal, reading-like-it’s-my-job phase, I went through a Chick Lit phase.  I still enjoy a good Chick Lit every once in awhile, and when I think of some of my favorite Chick Lit books – this book and series always comes to the forefront of my mind.  I remember vividly sitting in my old apartment and starting this book on a Friday night – not putting it down until I finished it.  Then picking up the second book, Something Blue, on Saturday and not putting it down until I finished it, also!  I don’t know what it was about these two books or Emily’s writing style – but I was completely pulled in to the lives of these people and their stories.  I really picked up my reading game around the time I read these books and I have fond memories of those days.  I love when certain books can put an imprint on your heart that way – it reminds me of some good times in my life.

I’ve also seen the first movie & enjoyed it.  Looking forward to the second movie, which I read somewhere on the web is finally going to happen.

And I’m looking forward to Emily Giffin’s new release, The One & Only, coming out next week and getting a Chick Lit fix!

Second book in the Darcy & Rachel series (I may have even loved the second book even slightly more than the first.  Both were un-put-downable for me.):

42155

2 thoughts on “Flashback Friday 5/16: Something Borrowed by Emily Giffin

  1. Lori Palmer (@palmerspageturn) says:

    I have a secret love for Chick Lit as well! Not all of it–only the really good ones like Emily Giffin and Jane Green. Something Borrowed, as well as Something Blue, are books I can reread and still get enjoyment out of them. I also really liked Love The One You’re With. And of course, super excited for The One & Only!

  2. Andrea @ The Bookish Babe says:

    Oh yeah, I devoured chick lit for a long time. I still love it. I’ve heard good things about Giffin’s books, but was not really a fan of Something Borrowed -the movie. (I’m sorry!)
    Thanks for sharing, Brandie!

Leave a Reply

