Bout of Books Readathon 10.0 – Day Three Update

 BoB10-200x200

Updates

Wednesday

Number of pages I’ve read today: 95

Total # of pages I’ve read this week: 446

Books I read from: Goodnight June by Sarah Jio

Took part in tonight’s Twitter chat

#todayinsixwords: I’m LOVING this book so hard.

Today was a pretty good reading day.  I managed to read most of my lunch and got a few hours in after my daughter went to bed, and in between the Twitter chat.  That was after spending an hour in the basement because we had tornado warnings.  The rain and storms this week are getting old.  If I can’t be home wrapped up in the blanket reading my book when it’s crappy out – then I’d prefer some sunshine, please!  And also – umbrellas are a pain in the ass.

5955782abb2d321af17930dd2c39bf10

Challenge

Today’s Spell it Out Challenge is hosted by Kimberly Faye Reads.

Use the first letter in any book you’ve read or want to read to spell out a word. You can choose first name, initials, your birthday month, or your zodiac sign.

I’m choosing to spell out my name using the titles of some of my favorite books.

                     brandie spelling

13826979 17457124 6936382 17667168

16140408 17883712 16151255

 

Tuesday

Number of pages I’ve read today: 100

Total # of pages I’ve read this week: 351

Books I read from: Goodnight June by Sarah Jio

#todayinsixwords: Wish I could’ve stayed awake longer.

I didn’t get to read as much as I hoped – my lunch break was cut short yesterday.  I couldn’t manage to stay awake and focus very long last night, either.  But I am loving this book SO much. And this morning I woke up to this notification that made my day!

tweet

 

Challenge

Today’s challenge is Book Pairings hosted by My Overstuffed Shelves. ‘This’ made me think of ‘that’: Just think about the book you are reading now, or one you’ve read before, and tell me something you think goes with it and why.

As I’m reading Goodnight June, I can’t help but think about the movie You’ve Got Mail, and make similar comparisons.  If you haven’t seen the movie (you should!) – it’s about two business rivals (Meg Ryan & Tom Hanks) who hate each other at the office (they both own bookstores), but fall in love over the internet.  Meg Ryan’s character owns a quaint children’s bookstore, that was in her family for years.  This is one of my favorite movies of all time, and I could only dream of owning an old fashioned bookstore, even though I know they are a dying breed.  Just something about the atmosphere and being surrounded by so many books – that’s my idea of heaven!

I’m enjoying this book so much – I love the story line and the writing.  I just want to curl up on my couch all day and read it.  Being a responsible adult sucks sometimes, lol.

 

Monday

Number of pages I’ve read today: 251

Books I read from: When We Fall by Kendall Ryan & Goodnight June by Sarah Jio

Books finished: When We Fall by Kendall Ryan 

Took part in today’s Twitter chat

#todayinsixwords: KR books are like comfort food

 

Challenge

Books You’re Looking Forward To hosted by River City Reading.  Create a list of your most anticipated books.  These are books I can’t wait to get my hands on!

1. Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

2. Fall from India Place by Samantha Young

3. Beautiful Oblivion by Jamie McGuire

4. Landline by Rainbow Rowell

5. Contradictions by Tiffany King

6. The Raven by Sylvain Reynard

7. Only with You by Lauren Layne

8. Captivated by You by Sylvia Day

9. The Resolution of Callie & Kayden by Jessica Sorensen

10. The One & Only by Emily Giffin


 

Very excited for my first Bout of Books Readathon!  I’m glad it’s a week long event because I may actually be able to meet my goal.  I don’t plan on doing many of the challenges – my focus is just to read.  I will participate some on Twitter and Instagram.  With a 3-year-old at home, my reading time is limited, so we’ll see how this goes! 

IMG_6885[1]

No pretty book stacks because everything is on my Kindle(s).

Books

I haven’t decided yet which one I’m starting today – but I’m picking from these:

Goodnight June by Sarah Jio

When We Fall by Kendall Ryan

Happenstance by Jamie McGuire

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

Sweet Filthy Boy by Christina Lauren

Goals

1. Read as much as I can every day – lunch breaks and after my daughter goes to bed.

2. Hopefully finish 2 books.

3. Check in with other readathoners on blogs, Twitter, & Instagram.

4. Update this master post each day.

I’m excited!  Happy Reading Bout of Bookers!

 

 

9 thoughts on “Bout of Books Readathon 10.0 – Day Three Update

  1. whatsheread says:

    You are doing so well!! I love that you included Red Hill in your Spell It Out challenge. That was one of my favorites from last year as well!

    Good luck today and tomorrow!

  2. Nevena Gagic (Nena's Reviews) says:

    I loved Anna and the french kiss ( but I loved Lola more though), and I’ve been wanting to read The edge of never for a long time now but wasn’t sure if I would enjoy it haha,

    It is the best when author answer tweets I had conversations with Katie Mcgarry author of Pushing the limits which is my absolute fave series ( Crash into you and dare you to are my favorite in that series so far), and some other authors, It just makes me so happy and I fangirl way too hard over it haha

    • Brandie says:

      Edge of Never is definitely one of my favorites of all time. I read and loved the first book in the Katie McGarry series…I need to read the rest!

  3. Anika (saturdaynightwriting) says:

    Sometimes I find it so hard to stay awake and keep reading. Like your brain wants to keep going but your eyes just can’t do it! But (confession time) I’ve never actually fallen asleep with a book in my hands. What about you?

Leave a Reply

