Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

Bookish and Not So Bookish Thoughts is a weekly event hosted by Bookishly Boisterous.

1. I finished Better When He’s Bad by Jay Crownover & When We Fall by Kendall Ryan.  Reviews to come closer to release day.  Both were fantastic.  I’m also on my way to finishing another book hopefully today and plan to squeeze one more in this week.

2. I am having so much fun with Bout of Books!  I’ve read way more than I thought I would in a week and have had fun chatting with other bloggers/readathoners, and participating in the 2 Twitter chats.  I’m really glad I decided to sign up for it.

3. I have an unhealthy obsession with my cat.  She’s the sweetest cat ever, although she used be kind of a bitch.  It seems like ever since my daughter was born, she’s turned into a little old softy.  Even my husband has to admit she’s awesome.  He wasn’t much of a cat lover until he met me – I’ve corrupted him in more ways than one.  But I mean, look how cute she is.

IMG_6780[1]

4. I haven’t seen many classic movies like Gone with the Wind, It’s a Wonderful Life, or Charlie & the Chocolate Factory.  Is that crazy?  But I’ve seen Clueless about 182 times.  I can’t believe it’s almost 20 years since that movie came out.  #asif

as-if

200

original

original (1)

5. I am easily frazzled when my day gets thrown off track unexpectedly.  I just don’t do well without planning things out.

6.  And I’ve heard this from my husband a lot over the years.  The answer is always, ‘no’.

90120b8bf967f01ee8e2beceee59a094

7. I love reading new children’s books to my daughter.  My favorites lately are The Children Who Loved Books and The Day the Crayons Quit.

8. I need a nap.  I look forward to the weekends partly because I love to nap and I usually get to take a nap both days when the peanut takes hers.

9. This happened earlier in the week and I was really excited.  When an author takes the time to recognize their readers – it geeks me out and makes me happy.

tweet

10. Wives – hug your husbands.  A co-worker of mine lost her husband this week to a heart attack at the very young age of 39.  A seemingly healthy guy who you would have never expected something like this to happen to.  It’s so tragic and awful that my heart breaks for her and her 3 children.  Life is too short – pick your battles, appreciate everything, and hold onto each other.

ac66eb126ebcc4a894d22f26c1583b6b

And with that – have a lovely weekend!

Signature

10 thoughts on “Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

  1. Karsyn says:

    I do know how quickly life can change. It’s a shame how many people spend their life worrying or complaining instead of being grateful for what they have in front of them. My husband knows very much how he’s my everything and I adore him. I also have not seen many classic movies (though I have seen Charlie & the Chocolate Factory) but haven’t seen Clueless either, and EWWWW. Not for me. 🙂 It’s amazing the movies I haven’t seen (I was sheltered as a child) but now that I could, I just don’t really have the desire to.

  2. Lori Palmer (@palmerspageturn) says:

    Great post!! A few things I HAVE to share with you! 🙂

    1. I too am obsessed with my cats! I have four and they are adorable! Love those fur babies! Yours is adorable too!!
    2. I still find myself quoting Clueless in my daily life.
    3. I too hard a twitter nerd out moment today! I posted my review of E & P, tweeted about it, tagged Rainbow Rowell in my tweet…and she favorite my tweet and tweeted me back thanking me!!! It made my day! I so appreciate her taking the time to do that!!

    • Brandie says:

      Isn’t that so cool when they do that! For them to take the time to respond – I have so much respect for authors like that!

      I can still watch Clueless and never get tired of it. 🙂

  3. Andrea @ The Bookish Babe says:

    Great list!
    I had this cat in high school, and she was a huge bitch. She would claw me up, and then climb in bed with me to sleep. I miss her.

    Clueless is one of my favorite movies ever! I’ve been watching it a lot lately.
    I’m so sorry for your friend’s loss.

  4. Jade @ Bits & Bobs says:

    Ah, that’s sad to hear about your coworkers husband… Living everyday as if its your last it something I wish I would apply to life more often.

    So I’m not the only one that kind of fangirls when a author responds to something of mine! I’ve had a couple of experiences with this, on both my blog and Twitter, and it always puts a spring in my step – I just love it when an author shows the support to us that we’re showing them. It also makes them feel more ‘human’ if you now what I mean.

    Keep up the good work on Bout of Books!

    🙂

    • Brandie says:

      Thank you! 🙂

      It’s so fun to hear from authors. The fact they take time to acknowledge their fans makes them seem more real and ‘human’ – you are right!

  5. Sarah Says Read says:

    “5. I am easily frazzled when my day gets thrown off track unexpectedly. I just don’t do well without planning things out.”

    I AM THE SAME WAY. I like to wake up relatively early and know what I’m going to do. When I get up and then can’t decide what to do and end up not doing anything, it just throws me off completely.

    Your kitty is adorable 🙂 and I’m so glad you’re liking Bout of Books! I am too, even though this is probably my “worst” one yet, lol.

    • Brandie says:

      I just can’t handle when things get thrown off course – gives me anxiety and makes me bitchy. Lol.

      Thanks! I’m so glad I joined BoB and definitely plan on signing up again!

Leave a Reply

