Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

Bookish and Not So Bookish Thoughts is a weekly event hosted by Bookishly Boisterous.

1. I finished Eleanor & Park yesterday and I can’t stress enough how good this book is.  You can find my review here.  It was a wonderful read.

2.  We’re entering the busiest time of the year at work – Fiscal Year End.  I work in Accounting, so you accountants out there understand what that means.  I am the Admin Assistant, so I’m not impacted very much – but I’m feeling the stress of my peers around me.  And every year it makes me glad I’m not an actual accountant.

3.  A sure fire way of angering my OCD is by leaving every cabinet door or drawer open in the house.  I walk through my house several times a day just closing the things that have been left wide open.

4. My daughter lives in a constant musical.  She wakes up singing and doesn’t stop until she goes to bed.  It’s pretty sweet and hilarious, and she’s pretty good at it, as far as being on key goes.  It makes me happy that she’s so happy all the time.  I remember singing all the time as a kid, and I’m that girl you see driving down the road singing at the top of her lungs.

IMG_6804[1]

5. THE SUN IS SHINING.  After a week of god-awful rain every.damn.day – we finally have sunshine and warm temps.  I got to open my windows and sleep with them open last night.  This is how it feels to live in Ohio, in May.

6.  I have the best friends ever.  This is what they did for my birthday on Friday.  They get me.  Combining my love for Dunkin Donuts and my love for Grumpy Cat.

IMG_6748[2]

7. New favorite song (this seems to be a weekly occurance) – Red Lights by Tiesto.  A dance-in-the-car, blasting full volume song.

8. Bout of Books is next week!  I set a goal of 2 books.  I’ll be happy with that if I can manage it.  It’ll be fun following other readathoners during the week.

9. Things that make me happy are checking my Kindle pending downloads and seeing one of my favorite authors emailed her newest book to me this week.

10. Although it’s a struggle sometimes, I’m learning that I just have to let some things go.  I’m a chronic people-pleaser and care too much how people feel about me.  This said it all for me this week.

e2379e08ddb42b43652985f93c2bffcf

Happy Mother’s Day to all you mommies!  Have a fabulous weekend.

5 thoughts on “Bookish (and not so Bookish) Thoughts

  1. Jade @ Bits & Bobs says:

    I saw on Twitter that you had finished and 5 starred Eleanor & Park… I’m glad to her you like it because I recently downloaded that particular Rainbow Rowell book on to my Kindle when there was an offer on it. I did actually want to start my Rainbow Rowell adventures with Attachments but I couldn’t pass up the great deal that was available on Eleanor & Park! I’ll reserve reading your review until after I’ve read it myself though – I look forward to it.

    Also, we already celebrated Mother’s Day here in the UK – it’s March here, which is odd seen as Father’s Day falls on the same day here and there – but I hope you have a lovely Mother’s Day.

    🙂

    • Brandie says:

      Thank you! I didn’t realize they were on different months – learned something new! 🙂

      I hope you enjoy E&P – I think it’s the perfect 1st RR book to read. I can’t wait to see what you think!

  2. Krystyn says:

    I’m with you on caring too much about what others think of me….need to let that go a bit. Hope you have a Happy Mother’s Day…I’m looking forward to the day as well. 🙂

  3. whatsheread says:

    More proof we must be secret sisters:

    I am an accountant, so I know EXACTLY what you mean about year-end stress. Ours is a calendar year, so we got to go through that in January, followed by audit stress in February and March. Things are finally settling down for us, except for the month-end stress.

    My surefire OCD moment is lights. And cabinets. And crap left out on the counter. How difficult is it to shut off a light when leaving a room, to close a cabinet when done, or to throw away garbage or recycling or just pick up after yourself?

    Both my kids live in musicals. One is singing, and the other is whistling. My daughter also quite literally dances through life. I am just not that happy a person, I fear.

    I love what your friends did for you for your birthday! That is just awesome!

    Have a great weekend, my dear. And Happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

