Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-thon – My Stack!

dewey-300x300

I’m super excited to participate in my first ever readathon this Saturday. It’s something I’ve always wanted to do.  Because I don’t really know how much I’ll be able to read, I don’t want to set my goals too high and overwhelm myself.  This is supposed to be for fun, and I’m not all about stressing myself out over it.

My goal is to read at least 12 hours total.  If I read more, I’ll be stoked.  I figure that I can average at least 50 pages an hour – more if the book is really good and keeping my attention – making my total page goal of 600 pages (at least).  On average that’s a little less than 2 full length novels.  But I really hope I can surpass that.

I’m giving myself several options so if I get bored or start to lose focus – I have other books to fall back on.  My game plan is to finish the books I’m working on right now, and if I get those finished – I have several ready to start.


To finish if I haven’t already finished by Friday (but I better finish one of them by Friday or I’m revoking my own bookworm card):

                          19091520 19241689

On deck:

I’m giving myself options but I realistically only think I will get through one of them.  I feel like I have a good variety with some New Adult, a YA, as well as a Cozy Mystery if I get the urge for it.

                         18668065 20657293

                          1720409517201881

Novellas:

I’m going to start with one of these so that I feel like I’m accomplishing something.

                            1826982917411704

I think I have a good line up and hope I just have fun and enjoy the whole process – reading, blogging, and chatting with other marathoners.  It’s been a long time since I could read an entire day for fun and that is why I’m doing it!

18 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-thon – My Stack!

  1. Samantha Gray says:

    Great stack!! It’s my first 24 hour readathon, too – I’ve gotta get my choices together. My TBR pile is getting so big, I’m overwhelmed! I almost feel like closing my eyes and just picking!

  2. Nadia says:

    Brandie, you have a great stack of books and a good plan to get your reading done for the read-a-thon 😉 E&P rocks and I can’t wait to find out what you think of it. I just finished reading fangirl and LOVED it!!! Such a good book – I was disappointed when it ended.

  3. Krista says:

    I saw that you already finished The Husband’s Secret. I loved that! I want to read E&P, too, but have to save it for post-readathon. Happy reading! 🙂 “See” you on Saturday!

  4. Becca @ Lost in Thought says:

    12 hour reading sounds like a good plan. I have most of Saturday free so hopefully if nothing pops up I can make 12 hours too! Great set of books here too, Eleanor and Park is really cute. Good luck!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

  5. Karsyn Smith says:

    I’m going through the participants, adding people to my Bloglovin’ to follow, and I came across your page. So, I saw something and HAD to respond with ~ Go Steelers!! 🙂 Lifelong Steeler fan here. Looking forward to keeping up with your Read-a-Thon and beyond. 🙂

    • Brandie says:

      Yay – I love meeting new Steelers fans! Living in Ohio (Akron) area – I get a LOT of grief for it.

      Thanks for finding me! I’ll make sure to check out your posts tomorrow. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

