Review: Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover

Image

 

Amazon | Goodreads


Goodreads Synopsis:

At twenty-two years old, aspiring musician Sydney Blake has a great life: She’s in college, working a steady job, in love with her wonderful boyfriend, Hunter, and rooming with her good friend, Tori. But everything changes when she discovers Hunter cheating on her with Tori—and she is left trying to decide what to do next.

Sydney becomes captivated by her mysterious neighbor, Ridge Lawson. She can’t take her eyes off him or stop listening to the daily guitar playing he does out on his balcony. She can feel the harmony and vibrations in his music. And there’s something about Sydney that Ridge can’t ignore, either: He seems to have finally found his muse. When their inevitable encounter happens, they soon find themselves needing each other in more ways than one…

My Review:

You know how there are some books that absolutely blow you away so much that no review could ever really do it justice? This was that book. I can’t even begin to express the brilliance that is this book. I am a huge fan of Colleen Hoover and have loved every single book she’s written. And each book I say is my new favorite – until she writes another masterpiece that I am now claiming as my new favorite.

Not only is her writing beautiful and smart and addicting – she always makes you fall in love with her characters. I felt so connected to Sydney and Ridge and was hypnotized by their story. I couldn’t put it down!

I also love how she can create such a different and unique story that I never expect. It’s nothing like I have ever read and it was refreshing and brilliant!

There are so many special things about this book that I don’t want to give away. It’s a book you have to just read in order to understand how amazing it is. The sexual tension, the love, the friendship, the musical aspect, the humor – this book has it all. There is a complicated love triangle that will have you questioning yourself and what you think is right or wrong. Based on the subject matter – this is probably going to be a love it or hate it book for most people. I normally steer clear of any and all books with a love triangle – but I am really thankful I didn’t this time. I do not condone cheating, and I know that is a very sensitive subject matter. Everyone’s circumstances are different and this book may or may not offend readers. So, I caution anyone who doesn’t care for that type of subject matter to be prepared.

It is an intense, emotional and powerful read that left me completely in awe once it was over.  I don’t want to be too vague but at the same time I don’t want to ruin what I felt was such a beautiful story, nor do it an injustice with my mediocre review. All I can say is that Colleen Hoover’s writing is flawless, and I have yet to read a book by her that I didn’t love.

ARC kindly provided by Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

